The Joyous Cookbook

Let’s try this again.

Posted on: January 6, 2016

Almost 4 years ago I “started” this blog with one entry and never wrote again. As I said then, that has been the story of my blogging life since after high school. I’ve been thinking about starting a blog again. But I honestly had completely forgotten about this “cooking” blog I started until my friend mentioned it to me last week. I told her I was thinking about starting a blog and she said, “I wish you had kept up with your cooking one.” Me too, girl. Me too.

So here we go again. To update: I’m married now. I’ve been married for about 3.5 years. Over the past year I’ve really slacked off in the cooking and crafting departments. We moved back to my home state, started new jobs, bought a house, and added a puppy to the mix. Needless to say, life has been a bit messy and there has been a decent amount of eating out, pizza, and beans & rice happening at my house. I’ve got a lot of goals for 2016, many of which include cooking more, spending less, keeping my house clean somehow, and writing more. I’ll probably start another blog that’s less practical. Cooking and crafting can be whimsical and fun. The only whimsy of cleaning is that brief 5 seconds after you’ve finished and before the mess returns with a vengeance. I’m still convinced cleaning fairies exist somewhere in the world and I spend a lot of time waiting on them to clean up. So I definitely wait more than that 5 seconds to start cleaning again!

The funniest thing about my first blogpost from 2012 is that I had just discovered Pinterest. I am definitely a Pinterest addict with thousands upon thousands of pins, most of which I’ve never followed through with. So here’s my chance to ORGANIZE my Pinterest and actually try some of those recipes, crafts, & cleaning strategies that I’m constantly pinning to feign productivity while I actually just binge-watch Netflix. Yeah, I’m a winner.

Two Thousand Sixteen: The year of productivity, organization, eating, Dave Ramsey-esque financial prowess, a little cleaning annnnnnd lots of blogging. I’m not even going to say “hopefully” or “fingers crossed” because it IS going to happen. And oh yeah, I started yoga-ing a lot too. I can do a freakin tripod headstand and I’m working my way to a full headstand. So be warned – lots of photos of meals, weird yoga poses, and puppies are on their way.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

